Thursday, January 16, 2014

Secret 7" 2014

I really loved this when Stewart Cutler sent me a link a few days ago ... Secret 7" is an annual event that combines music and art for a good course.

7 tracks pressed 100 times onto 7" vinyl and given one-off artwork from some seriously talented artists ... presented as a 'lucky dip' ... for £45 each ... all profits going to charity - in this case WARCHILD.

The musicians & tracks chosen this year are as follows:
  1. Black Sabbath - "Age of Reason"
  2. Elbow - "Grounds for Divorce"
  3. Jake Bugg - "Strange Creatures"
  4. Lorde - "Team"
  5. Massive Attack - "Karmacoma"
  6. Roxy Music - "Virginia Plain"
  7. T.Rex - "Get It On"
I would be quite happy with any one of them ... albeit I wouldn't play it but frame it. Which kind of goes against the pragmatic nature of my collecting - I collect to play as well as to look at the artwork. I think I could make an exception, just this once.

700 sleeves will be exhibited in London on 12 & 13th April, then on Record Store Day (19th April 2014 ... in the UK) you can get your hands on one, or more, for £45 a piece.

I really like this idea ... and may be tempted as a wee early 40th birthday present. After all, it is for a good cause.


No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails